Broadwater County Courthouse
515 Broadway St. Townsend Montana 59644
Telephone: 406-266-3443 Fax: 406-266-3674

Commissioners Meeting Agendas

Commissioners Meeting Minutes

Commissioners Meeting Videos

Public Hearing Notices

County Calendar

County Updates, Documents & Information

Broadwater County Newsletter



Broadwater County was named for Colonel Charles Broadwater and made an official county by the Montana Legislature in 1897. Broadwater County is roughly defined by the Big Belt Mountains to the east and north, the Elkhorn Mountains to the west, and the Horseshoe Hills to the south.

Townsend is the county seat and the only incorporated city in the county, although we have several other communities, including the Silos area, Toston, Radersburg, the Wheatland area, and Winston.

Vital Statistics:

Acres within Broadwater County – 796,000
Private land – 515,000 acres
Public land (State and Federal) – 281,000 acres
The population in 2010 was 5,612, with 1,878 living in the City of Townsend & 989,415 in the state. In the 1990’s Broadwater County experienced the third highest population growth in Montana, behind Ravalli and Gallatin counties.