COMMISSIONER MEETING 515 Broadway, Townsend, MT 59644 January 13, 2020

Commissioner Laura Obert called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m. Commissioners Mike Delger and Darrel Folkvord were also present.

Public comment is the opinion of citizens and does not necessarily reflect accurately on Broadwater County actions, operations, policy, practice or processes.

Public comment: Tim Ravndal stated he had 2 questions: Where is the petition for Solid Waste? What was done about the letter from a Granite County resident? What does the Commission plan to do about the status of certain roads in the county? What is the status of the building donated by the Forest Service?

Commissioner Folkvord moved to approve minutes dated 1/6/2020. Motion seconded by Commissioner Delger and carried.

Commissioner update: All attended the management training meeting and the Trust Board meeting. Commissioner Obert attended the National Justice and Public Safety meeting, where it was stated JAG funding will increase, which funds Drug Task Force units and canine units. At Agency on Aging meeting, a report showed Broadwater is the only county (out of six) that has no transport system for senior citizens.

Communications received: Email from MACo stating Secure Rural Schools (SRS) program has been funded for the next two years; Yellowstone Country Motors letter; receipt for \$1551, reimbursement of Johnny Crow project amicus brief; RY Timber notice to 70 employees of large-scale layoffs; Department of Revenue request for information. Communications are on file in the Commissioners' office as deemed necessary and are available for review.

Kathy Marks and Lori Ladas, Rocky Mountain Development Council, appeared to present their two-year work plan for projects in Broadwater County, including but not limited to Head Start, meals on wheels, Senior Companions and affordable housing.

Mary Hendrickson, Public Works, presented the Solid Waste Operations Summary Report for 6/1/19 through 12/31/19.

Mary asked for approval of a pre-disaster mitigation grant through FEMA for improvements on Spike's Lane and Lone Mountain Road. The total grant is for \$324,900, with Broadwater

County's share at \$81,225. Commissioner Folkvord moved to sign a county commitment letter for said project. Motion seconded by Commissioner Delger and carried.

Mary requested authority to purchase a 2014 ¾ ton Ford pickup, and a 1972 Cat dozer for \$16,500, using Road CIP funds. After discussion and comments from Bill Davis, no decision was made at this time.

Steve Kirk, resident on Old Town Road, stated appliances are being dumped along the road. Mary said it is not the county's charge to clean up the barrow pits, she had followed up with law enforcement. The county has easement for the road surface only. Old Town Road is not in the County Solid Waste District. Tim Ravndal had comments about the solid waste program.

Nichole Brown, Community Development Coordinator, presented a list of county board vacancies. The Trust Board has three vacancies and four applications. After discussion, Commissioner Folkvord moved to appoint Doug Breker to a 2-year voting term. Motion seconded by Commissioner Delger and carried. Commissioner Delger moved to appoint Mike Evans to a 3-year term as non-voting member. Motion seconded by Commissioner Folkvord and carried. Commissioner Obert moved to appoint Kim Kondelik to a 3-year voting term. Motion seconded by Commissioner Delger and carried. Commissioner Folkvord moved to appoint Virgil Binkley to a 3-year voting term, and Joe Jepson to a 3-year non-voting term. Motion seconded by Commissioner Delger and carried.

Tax Appeal Board: Commissioner Folkvord moved to appoint Chris Wright to a 3-year term and Craig Vietz to a 2-year term. Motion seconded by Commissioner Delger and carried.

Fair Board: Commissioner Folkvord moved to appoint John Rauser and Lisa Larson to 3-year terms. Motion seconded by Commissioner Delger and carried.

Museum Board: Commissioner Delger moved to appoint John Larsen, Paul Putz and Chuck McLane to 3-year terms. Motion seconded by Commissioner Folkvord and carried.

Planning Board: Commissioner Folkvord moved to appoint Herb Argabright to a 2-year term and Ross Johnson and Chad Kosel to 3-year terms. Motion seconded by Commissioner Delger and carried.

Weed Board: Commissioner Folkvord moved to appoint Peter Reiss to a 3-year term. Motion seconded by Commissioner Delger and carried. There is still a vacancy on this board.

Solid Waste Board: Commissioner Folkvord moved to appoint Daniel Davis to a 1-year term. Motion seconded by Commissioner Delger and carried. There are still three vacancies on this board.

Parks and Recreation Board: Commissioner Delger moved to appoint Philip Knaub to a 3-year term. Motion seconded by Commissioner Folkvord and carried. There is still a vacancy on this board.

Commissioner Folkvord presented information on options for a county website. No decision was made. Debi Randolph commented Jefferson County site is easy to use.

Commissioner Folkvord moved to allow the purchase of the 2012 F15 Ford pickup for \$10,000 by the road department. Motion seconded by Commissioner Delger and carried.

Commissioners, Al Christophersen, Richard Tramp, Nichole Brown plus Dan Stremcha and Dan Gallagher, BOR (via Phone), met to evaluate the RFPs for the Silos Master Plan. After much discussion, Commissioner Delger moved to accept the proposal from Robert Peccia and Associates. Motion seconded by Commissioner Folkvord and carried

Jeff Langlinais, Brandon Harris, John Hahn, John Graylor and Mike Evans were among those present.

The meeting was adjourned at 3:27 p.m. The next regular meeting is scheduled for January 21, 2020 at 10:00 a.m.

•

Laura Obert, Chairman	

Attest:

Ann Rauser, Deputy Clerk and Recorder