## COMMISSIONER MEETING 515 Broadway, Townsend, MT 59644 January 7, 2019

Commissioner Mike Delger called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m. Commissioners Laura Obert and Darrel Folkvord were also present.

Public comment: Commissioner Folkvord read a memo from the Broadwater Reporter re: changes in the publication process.

Commissioner Folkvord, in response to a question from a constituent, asked why the Forest Service building is being given to Jeff Stewart. Ed Shindoll, Rural Fire Chief, stated the Forest Service excess property building was given to the Rural Fire Department. It was deemed cost prohibitive to be used for a fire station. Mr. Stewart has offered to erect it on his property, with the RFD having storage privilege. Ed is working to get the original agreement from the Forest Service. Cory Swanson, County Attorney, Tim Ravndal and Jeff Stewart raised concerns about the process.

Shirley Wilson stated the meeting was not posted at the school or post office. The meeting notice was in the Broadwater Reporter.

Commissioner Obert moved to approve minutes dated 1/2/2019. Motion seconded by Commissioner Folkvord and carried.

Commissioner update: Commissioner Delger attended the THS Board meeting, the Fire Department Christmas dinner – excellent food and several new members. Commissioner Obert attended the public relations team and personnel team meetings. Commissioner Folkvord also attended the THS Board meeting

All commissioners met with Mary Hendrickson and leads of the Lewis & Clark City-County Solid Waste Interlocal. The discussion was ministerial.

Bernadette Swenson stopped by the Commission office to wish the Commissioners Happy New year. The discussion was ministerial.

Communications received: FCC licensing form for 911; invitation t the 8<sup>th</sup> annual CASA of Lewis & Clark and Broadwater Counties Light of Hope event on 3/2/19; Verizon memo; two Montana's Peer Network brochures; Rural Montana magazine; TD & H Engineering 2019 calendar. Communications are filed in the Commissioners' office as deemed necessary and are available for review.

Debi Randolph expressed concern that Trust Board mail had been opened.

Nichole Brown, Community Development, presented Board vacancies and applications for said positions.

Compensation Board- 4 positions, no applications.

Tax Appeal Board -1 position, no applications.

Fair Board -2 positions, 1 application. Commissioner Obert moved to appoint Michele Rauser to a three-year term. Motion seconded by Commissioner Folkvord and carried.

Mosquito Board -2 positions, no applications.

Three Forks Mosquito Board – no applications; Commissioner Folkvord is a member as Commissioner in the District.

Museum Board – 4 positions, 4 applications. Commissioner Obert moved to appoint Keith Kirscher, Helen Turcotte and Brian Kimpton to three-year terms, and Ross Johnson to a two-year term. Motion seconded by Commissioner Folkvord and carried.

Weed Board – 3 positions, 4 applications: Nathan Kosto, Don Hettinger, Michael Santi and Peter Reiss. Decision was deferred to next week.

Planning Board -1 resignation. No decision on a replacement. Nicole will advertise for applicants for the open positions.

The meeting was recessed until 1:30 p.m. when commissioners hold office hours.

Bobbie Meehan, Walt Leedle, Mary Hendrickson, Cheryl Campbell, Shirley Wilson, Brandon Harris, Seth Wenzel, Duane and Melinda Holom and Mike Evans were also present.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:45 p.m. The next regular meeting is scheduled for January 14, 2019 at 10:00 a.m.

	Mike Delger, Chairman
Attest:	