Vistor Information

Broadwater County was formed in 1897 and contains 1191 square miles of land and 48 square miles of water. The county seat is Townsend. Other towns within the county include Radersburg, Toston and Winston.

Broadwater County is a unique place to live. Nestled between the Elkhorn Mountains to the west and the Big Belt Mountains to the east, the valley between offers many attractions. Canyon Ferry reservoir provides outdoor enthusiasts with boating, fishing, bow & arrow fishing for Carp, water skiing, parasailing, wind surfing, sailing, ice fishing and ice boat sailing. The area is truly a sportsman paradise with hunting, fishing, hiking, camping, horseback riding, bird & big game watching, ATV & dirt bike areas & trails, snowmobiling, downhill & cross county skiing, virtually out the back door. 35% of Broadwater County is Public Land.

Agriculture, mining, and the timber industry along with great schools, churches and modern, efficient medical facilities make this a genuine place to work and live. Our county has a small home town atmosphere with a caring and safe place to raise a family.

Townsend’s City Hall also serves as the local information office, it is located at 110 Broadway just East of the stop light.

Townsend Brochure
Click Here

This brochure prints on 8.5 x 14 paper.

Exploring Southwest Montana Begins
By Clicking Here

Hiking Trails in Montana Click Here